About The Council

Some facts about Padstow Town Council

Padstow Town Council has 12 Councillors, nine of which represent Padstow Ward and three represent Trevone Ward. Each Councillor serves a term of four years. Every year the Council elects one Member as Town Mayor who is Chair of the Council and one Member as the Deputy Town Mayor who is the Deputy Chair of the Council.  Members’ Register of Interests are held on the Cornwall Council website which can be viewed on this page.

The Town Council meets on the last Tuesday of each month (except for August and December when meetings of Full Council are not held) at *7.30 pm in the Council Chamber, Station House, Station Road, Padstow. Members of the public can speak on any agenda item during the public participation agenda item.    *NB: From June 2020 the Council moved to remote meetings to commence at 6.30pm.  This to last until 7 May 2021 or the repeal of legislation whichever is the earlier (Regulations made under s78 of Coronavirus Act 2020)

The Council also has the following Committees to take forward the business of the Council within their own remit. Each Committee has its own Terms of Reference agreed by Full Council, which details their areas of responsibilities and delegated powers.

  • Planning
  • Finance & General Purposes
  • Leisure Tourism & Open Spaces
  • Highways Roads & Transport
  • Staffing

The Council employs a small team who undertake all tasks and duties required to run a Town Council.  These range from managing Council finances, implementing Council polices to cutting grass and keeping our parish clean and tidy.  All staff are encouraged to continue their personal development to keep up with the latest legislation e.g. Health & Safety, First Aid and Local Government Statutes.

Office Opening Hours: Monday to Friday 9am – 4.30pm (Due to COVID19 our offices are not open to the public.  Should you wish to contact the Council during this time please email enquiries@padstow-tc.gov.uk or telephone the office on 01841 532296 so we may assist)  NB: The Office is closed on Bank Holidays